The Siren by Kiera Cass

The SirenPublished: January 26th 2016 by HarperTeen (first published July 1st 2009)

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Mermaids

Pages: Hardcover, 327

Amazon | Barnes and Noble Goodreads

Years ago, Kahlen was rescued from drowning by the Ocean. To repay her debt, she has served as a Siren ever since, using her voice to lure countless strangers to their deaths. Though a single word from Kahlen can kill, she can’t resist spending her days on land, watching ordinary people and longing for the day when she will be able to speak and laugh and live freely among them again.

Kahlen is resigned to finishing her sentence in solitude…until she meets Akinli. Handsome, caring, and kind, Akinli is everything Kahlen ever dreamed of. And though she can’t talk to him, they soon forge a connection neither of them can deny…and Kahlen doesn’t want to.

Falling in love with a human breaks all the Ocean’s rules, and if the Ocean discovers Kahlen’s feelings, she’ll be forced to leave Akinli for good. But for the first time in a lifetime of following the rules, Kahlen is determined to follow her heart.


My review:

I admit, I avoided reading this book for some time, unsure of how much I might like it. Having read The Selection and liking 2/3 of it (not really the last book), but not sure if I was willing to read something like that again and the ratings on Goodreads, I decided not to read it all. However, when I decided to listen to audiobooks while I drove to and from work/school, this popped up, immediately available, so I decided to try. At least that way I was only putting driving time into it.

I was wrong, I admit it. While I’m sure I didn’t get the full effect of everything in the book I was surprised by how much I started liking it. Learning about what Kahlen went through, what she was going through, how it affected her life, and the whole situation just kept me wanting more and more and more.

I wasn’t really into the romance of this book, and I know that was kind of the main plot piece here and the book without the romance wouldn’t have worked, but it was getting almost annoying enough to stop listening. Really, come on. I won’t say anything in interest of not spoiling it, but it didn’t play off right.

The plot (not the romance one, the one where Kahlen and other girls sing to pull people to their deaths for the ocean) is one of two things I do like this book. There is certainly a lot more than romance that goes along here and I think it was written well.

I did like some of the characters, like Kahlen. She was nice enough, wallowed in self-hatred a little, which is one of the best ways to get me to like characters, but also tried to keep her promises at any cost. Some of the other characters such as Elizabeth, Maika and Aisling I also enjoyed reading about. I especially like the ocean and how Kiera Cass chose to personify her and make her not understand humans and her sirens. She isn’t human and this dynamic really is interesting.

However, I find myself not liking Akinli at all. His character was flat, to perfect to be real (I don’t remember him having any flaws, it was almost as if he was made to be exactly what Kahlen expected… wait, isn’t that what this was?) and just lacked any realistic feelings. Yeah, he’s a great guy, but come on, not everyone reacts well to that situation. I won’t say more because spoilers.

So there that is. I’ve decided to give 3.5 stars because I liked it and might read it again if I ever get through my list (yeah, right) but wouldn’t want to buy it and put it on my shelf. I’ll stick to library copies.

★★★.5

Leave a Reply

