A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird #1) by Claudia Gray

a-thousand-pieces-of-youPublished: November 4th 2014 by Harper Teen

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Romance, Fantasy

Pages: Hardcover, 360

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Goodreads

Cloud Atlas meets Orphan Black in this epic dimension-bending trilogy by New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray about a girl who must chase her father’s killer through multiple dimensions.

Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their groundbreaking achievements. Their most astonishing invention, called the Firebird, allows users to jump into multiple universes—and promises to revolutionize science forever. But then Marguerite’s father is murdered, and the killer—her parent’s handsome, enigmatic assistant Paul— escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite refuses to let the man who destroyed her family go free. So she races after Paul through different universes, always leaping into another version of herself. But she also meets alternate versions of the people she knows—including Paul, whose life entangles with hers in increasingly familiar ways. Before long she begins to question Paul’s guilt—as well as her own heart. And soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is far more sinister than she expected.

A Thousand Pieces of You explores an amazingly intricate multi-universe where fate is unavoidable, the truth elusive, and love the greatest mystery of all.


My review:

Where to start? That is an excellent question for someone who is trying their best to optimistic about the next two books in the series. And that someone happens to be me.

My very first impression was that the author had an inconsistent writing pattern. There were long winded sentences that probably should have been split into two, and the really short sentences that could have been joined with others. It’s like the author had incomplete thoughts while writing this, like she almost couldn’t decide what it was that she wanted to write about. I really struggled when trying to read this book.

I have to point out, as someone who likes to both read and be up to date on all the recent scientific data and whatnot, this book lacked realistic facts. While the narrator was describing the Firebird (the device that allows people to travel dimensions) there was no scientific information. It was, mostly, my parents built this device, I heard them talking about it, I didn’t always pay attention yet I know enough to have a basic understanding of the device without using any actual scientific information.

Maybe I’m just being picky, but the more real information that a book has in it the more likely I am to believe in the world the author creates.

That brings me to my next point because believing in the world I’m reading about helps decide on how much I end up liking the book. So, I ask this question. How am I supposed to believe in this world when even the characters fall flat and boring? The answer is that you can’t. I didn’t come to have any feelings for these character except mild like, dislike, or indifference. Any of these characters could have died and I really wouldn’t have minded.

I felt as if the thought went in circles until the last fourth of the book. The same, very predictable, problems happening and it became really annoying. And the other dimensions that the book features are rather bland. The ideas are good, really I found myself wanting to learn about them, but the delivery, like most things in the book, just wasn’t right. Instead of learning about the other dimensions, I got to learn about all the juicy gossip and irrelevant details that I really didn’t want to read about. This should really be a book with “drama” on the copyright page. I got seriously sick of the main characters constant whining.

There was also a distinct lack of details of events that happen, such as when Marguerite’s father was killed in a car accident. I don’t remember how many chapters I had to get through before I finally figured out what happened. While not all facts need to be presented to me right away, large events that shape the story need to be pointed out fairly early in the book so the reader doesn’t get confused about the events or context the story is taking place in.

Claudia Gray, I have to admit that I was able to predict about 60% of the plot twists that you decided to throw into the book. While you did fool me 40%, it still isn’t a percentage that I would want to be standing in.

Now I know that I’ve said a lot of mean things about this book, but there is one good thing to make me want to give it three stars. The overall plot idea.

Reading the summary of the book, the traveling to different dimensions, mystery, action, adventure, I thought it would be right up my ally. I love the idea, I love the end result and where the story went. Because of this one simple reason I’m willing to give the next two books in the series a chance.

To wrap up, three stars because of all the not good reasons I listed, but also because I think this is a good idea and I’m surprised I haven’t read any other books with a similar idea. It kept my interest enough to make it through the end, but only because I wanted to know what happened.

★★★

Leave a Reply

