Like a River Glorious (Gold Seer Trilogy #2) by Rae Carson

like-a-river-gloriousPublished: September 27th 2016 by Greenwillow

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Historical, Adventure

Pages: Hardcover, 416

Barnes and Noble | Amazon | Goodreads

He will never stop hunting me down. I have to end him, and soon.

Lee Westfall survived the dangerous journey to California. She found a new family in the other outcasts of their wagon train, and Jefferson, her best friend, is beginning to woo her shamelessly. Now they have a real home—one rich in gold, thanks to Lee’s magical ability to sense the precious metal in the world around her.

But Lee’s Uncle Hiram has survived his own journey west. He’s already murdered her parents, and he will do anything to have Lee and her talents under his control. No one is safe. When he kidnaps her, she sees firsthand the depths of his depravity.

Lee’s magic is changing, though. It is growing. The gold no longer simply sings to her—it listens. It obeys her call. Will that alone be enough to destroy her uncle?

My Review:

So I will say that I did enjoy this book much more than I did the first one. But, giving that I did like it, this review will be a little shorter than usual as I’m not feeling up to writing all the details of what I did and didn’t like about this book.

Characters! Many of them had much more personality in this book, and I was happy to find that I got to know these characters better! However, same as the first book in the trilogy, some of the characters fell a little flat on my expectations. I would have liked to have seen more of them in the book, but given the plot, I can understand why they weren’t in it so much.

I was glad to see that this book took place in settings I wasn’t expecting, and that kept me guessing about some things as well. There isn’t a section of this book that I didn’t like, thought I feel that sometimes the plot had little movement or wasn’t as thought out as I have become accustomed to.

There is something missing from these books, something that I noticed in the first one, but couldn’t figure out what it was. Still, I’m guessing at exactly what that something is, though I think it has something to do with the characters. Or the setting that just isn’t completely explained. I won’t know what’s missing until it decides to show up I guess.

Overall, I enjoyed reading it and had a hard time putting it down. I wanted to know what was going to happen next, and know more about the situation Lee was in. I’m waiting to read the next book and I’m excited to see exactly where this trilogy will end.

★★★★

Leave a Reply

