Walk on Earth a Stranger (Gold Seer Trilogy #1) by Rae Carson

walk-the-earth-a-strangerPublished: September 22nd 2015 by Greenwillow Books

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Historical, Magic

Pages: Hardcover, 436

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Goodreads

Gold is in my blood, in my breath, even in the flecks in my eyes.

Lee Westfall has a strong, loving family. She has a home she loves and a loyal steed. She has a best friend—who might want to be something more.

She also has a secret.

Lee can sense gold in the world around her. Veins deep in the earth. Small nuggets in a stream. Even gold dust caught underneath a fingernail. She has kept her family safe and able to buy provisions, even through the harshest winters. But what would someone do to control a girl with that kind of power? A person might murder for it.

When everything Lee holds dear is ripped away, she flees west to California—where gold has just been discovered. Perhaps this will be the one place a magical girl can be herself. If she survives the journey.

The acclaimed Rae Carson begins a sweeping new trilogy set in Gold Rush-era America, about a young woman with a powerful and dangerous gift.

My review:

This book wasn’t what I thought it was when I first picked it up. I thought it would be set in a fantasy world, one that I had never heard of. That’s my mistake really; I didn’t pay so much attention to the description. I read one or two lines and decided I liked it and even bought the next book because I was sure I would really like this book. I was completely confused when it said Georgia, and California, and come to find out it set in 1800s America!

I do have to admit, I was a little apprehensive about this book, mostly because I wasn’t sure where it was going or even a basic idea of what the plot would be. I was glad, however, to step back away from the fantasy worlds and into a real world with problems that people during that time were very concerned about. I wouldn’t know how accurate this book is in terms of much of the landscape or history specifics. I’ve only been to the eastern side of America and only know what I was taught in school. It all seemed pretty realistic in my opinion.

I would say I liked the book, for the most part. It has some good description, and while the plot doesn’t have a whole lot of movement from the halfway mark on, it does have a bit of action and events do still happen.

I don’t have anything to complain about, more of just comments as to what made a 3.5 star book instead of a 4 or 4.5 star book. The characters all seemed a little flat, and had little dimension. Some characters are better than others, but they overall don’t feel real. I think this is mostly because I didn’t get to know some of the characters as well as I would have liked to, and not enough to learn their personality. It’s like I only get brief snapshots of these characters and I am then expected to know so much about them based of the little time I do see them.

And I also have some spoiler free comments about the ending. Well one comment really. There wasn’t much of a climax, it just kind of, ends. Almost abruptly.

Overall the book was a little slow, but kept me entertained. It was a short read, and I read the last half in one sitting.

★★★.5

Something I wasn’t aware of until I started getting this review ready to be posted, I’ve read some of this authors other books too, and I’ve been thinking about reading them again if I can get my hands on a copy. I enjoyed those too.

Leave a Reply

