Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) by Sarah J. Maas

Queen of ShadowsPublished: September 1st 2015 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Magic, Romance, Adventure

Pages: Hardcover, 648

Barnes and Noble | Amazon | Goodreads

 

*This book summary and review contains major spoilers for anyone who hasn’t read the end of Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2)*

 

The queen has returned.

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

The fourth volume in the New York Times bestselling series continues Celaena’s epic journey and builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.

My review:

Everyone, let’s just take a second here and allow a round of applause for this masterpiece created by Sarah J. Mass.

Yeah, I remember reading this the first time and I was on the edge of my seat, waiting, wondering, for whatever was going to happen next. Good God, I think I had to forget how much I liked this book in order not to go crazy waiting for the next one! As I read it again, to get caught up for when Empire of Storms does come out, I just keep sitting here thinking, how am I going to wait another two days before this next one is released?! I don’t know what to do!

Anyway, this book was just absolutely wonderful. And I can think of exactly two reasons why. First, it’s because the other three books have made stair steps, and without those, this book would not have been near as amazing. Without the others to help build the conflict and the characters, this book would just not have made it, though I think many people would say the same about other book series. Second, everything I wanted to happen did. Okay, well, almost everything. There still has to be some conflict, there are two more books to go. There is a reason this book has 4.62 Stars on Goodreads!

In my opinion, there is some freaking awesome character development in this book. And, we get to meet some characters (finally, after three books) that change the way things pan out in this series. But, I have to say, for the most part, I’m happy the way things turned out for most of our characters in this book.

I love the dynamic between Aelin and most the other characters. I love, love, love Aedion, and I wish there was a lot more of that. I adore Rowan, I can’t help it. Something about him just makes me want to swoon (is that still something girls do?). Lysandra too. Not really a plot twist, but information! Yes. Just so many yeses.  I love the way they all interact with each other.

I do have a few things that kind of bothered me though. First, and most of my problems, begin with Chaol. Before I start I just want to say, yes I know the story needed a little more conflict and that might be the reason he acted this way, but for the following reasons it bugged me. He was starting to act like everything was Aelin’s fault. I understand he needs someone to blame, but really? How can all of that really be her fault when you sent her away in the first place? I’m about 75% glad that he won’t be in Empire of Storms. The other part of me wonders what he will be doing during that time. I can’t help but think that Sarah J. Maas has a plan for him.

Also, Manon’s perspective just doesn’t do it for me in this book either. It’s worth reading once, but I found myself skipping over most of her parts the second time. And Elide’s perspective is also worth reading, though I have to admit, I skipped most of that the second time too. But the way Dorian’s parts were written was almost artfully. How little was written from his perspective showed us how much control he had, and the struggle.

Aelin totally pulled out all the bad-ass guns in this one. I’m not usually one to curse, but there just seems no other description for how she is in this book. I feel like she just decides ‘okay, today’s the day that I’m going to sweep the floor with this person.’ It works really well, and I’m really hoping (please, Sarah J. Maas, please) that we get to see more in Empire of Storms, and also that my favorite characters don’t die.

I have to say, I think this is one of the best endings a book has had for me in the last few years. Totally not a series end, but a good one. But it makes me want more. I can’t tell you how impatient I am waiting for Empire of Storms to get here so I can read it.

One last thing, and I don’t consider it bad. This book almost has a fanfiction feel to it. It was almost like Maas was just like ‘what the hell, it’s my book, I’m going to do what I want.’  Good for you! I know that you’ll take good care of my favorite characters! I hope so anyway.

Oh no, I have so much anxiety about reading this next book.

It’s really great everyone. This is my current favorite series. If need that extra push to read it, consider this it!

★★★★★

Leave a Reply

