Inkheart (Inkworld #1) by Cornelia Funke

InkheartPublished: June 1st 2005 by Scholastic Paperbacks (first published September 23rd 2003)

Genre: Young Adult, Children, Fantasy, Fiction

Pages: Paperback, 548 pages

 Barnes and Noble | Amazon | Goodreads Thrift Books

Twelve-year-old Meggie learns that her father, who repairs and binds books for a living, can “read” fictional characters to life when one of those characters abducts them and tries to force him into service.

Characters from books literally leap off the page in this engrossing fantasy. Meggie has had her father to herself since her mother went away when she was young. Mo taught her to read when she was five, and the two share a mutual love of books. He can “read” characters out of books. When she was three, he read aloud from a book called Inkheart and released characters into the real world. At the same time, Meggie’s mother disappeared into the story. This “story within a story” will delight not just fantasy fans, but all readers who like an exciting plot with larger-than-life characters.

My review:

I think I’ve always liked to read, or at least since I can remember. I never really had any of my own books, but wanted to read every book in the library during elementary school. I remember the Magic Treehouse books, because who wouldn’t love to get sucked into those adventures? So when I came across Inkheart, my heart just wanted to read it. Have the ability to read things out of a book? Yes I would love too. My favorite characters would be mine forever! Except then I would feel guilty and try to send them back or leave them alone to do what they want with their life.

Anyway, Inkheart was all I ever wanted rolled into one book. I read this a long time ago, back when I was still in middle school, I think. Or early high school. Either way. I listened to it again over the summer, and wow, I forgot how great the book really is. I am going to say though, I think this has been the only book I have enjoyed listening to more than reading it. The plot is a little slow, and my attention span is like that of a cat. I get distracted by shiny things, or moving things, or anything actually. But listening to it made me able to absorb the details better.

When I first read the book, I really liked Dustfinger, the mysterious fire handler, but listening to it a few weeks ago, well I realize that he’s actually really mean and I don’t like him near as much as I used to.

If you want to listen, the narrator is really good and I enjoyed listening to her read the book.

But this is a good book with adventure, bad guys from a book that was written by a character in the book, and even a character or two you might be familiar with. And it’s not all fun and games playing with the power to read people out of books, there is danger and so much more.

I do have to say I wish this book was a bit less childish. Yes, I know it’s mostly geared towards children, but I want a book like this that has more to it. Something more serious, more dangerous, I don’t know. It’s refreshing to not have romance in a book, but still needs something.

★★★★ Because I really liked this book, but I think there could have been more.

By the way, I think it’s also a movie. Maybe that’s how I found out about the book?

Leave a Reply

