Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas

Crown of MidnightPublished: August 27th 2013 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Magic, Adventure, Romance

Pages: Hardcover, 418

Barnes and Noble | Amazon | Goodreads

“A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached.

It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend.”

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

My review:

“Nehemia didn’t flinch. “You’re a coward. You are nothing more than a coward.”

Celaena’s finger clenched into fists. “When your people are lying dead around you,” she hissed, “don’t come crying to me.”

She didn’t give the princess the chance to reply before she stalked out of the room, Fleetfoot close on her heals.”

 

 

No Nehemia, don’t fight with Celaena. Nothing good ever comes out of it when you two fight. Don’t break my heart by saying mean things to each other. You’re the best friends if I’ve ever seen a pair! Please make up! Stop fighting, you need to get through the rest of the book and be best friends!

So I obviously ship this womance (like bromance) and have since Nehemia was first introduced into the story. These two could cause a lot of chaos if they wanted, but they have bigger things to worry about than playing particle jokes. I mean, Nehemia’s whole country is under threat of being killed! And Celaena has been busy taking care of the king’s dirty business while trying to make since of the clues that were left behind for her. But I still would have liked to have seen more the dynamic between these two. Just every day conversations, not only the important ones (after having read Queen of Shadows this feels so much more important. You’ll understand after you read it).

But I’m happy that we get to see a bit more of what everyday life is like for some of our favorite characters. Now the Celaena is back into tip-top shape, we get to read about her doing some pretty amazing stuff.

But once again, I find myself complaining about what seems to be recurring problem for books I read, not just this one. I feel like the passing of time is a little muddled. I finally got a better grasp at the amount of time that passed in this book, but that was after I finished it for the third time. Ok, maybe I’m exaggerating just a little, but I still felt myself trying to remember how much time had passed in the book.

So in Throne of Glass I was shipping Celaena and Dorian, I wanted them to be together. It’s the little Disney Princess in me that wants the girl to get the prince. After reading Crown of Midnight though, that ship for me permanently sunk. I was aboard and ready to sail on the Celaena and Chaol ship, but I had this feeling that something bad was going to happen, that I might end up broken hearted again. But each relationship has their own problems, and they both worked through it, and I was happy to not have my heart shattered (I’ll touch on this again in my review of Queen of Shadows).

Basically this book is filled with new challenges, and some I wasn’t ready for. Some I had been waiting for, and yes, finally something I want to happen becomes the truth!

This book has made me cry all three times I’ve read it, and all for exactly the same reason. I won’t say why because that would be spoiling the book, but this hit me on a very deep personal level. At the time I read this book I had been going through something similar to what Celaena endured in this book. It’s not written in some really artsy way, it’s not glorified, it’s real. Celaena acts just as she should in this situation, the exact same way I reacted (or not, because I’m no assassin after all). Just, this gets me all worked up, every time.

I originally only gave this book four stars on Goodreads because of one reason only. The next two books are so amazing, and better compared to this one. I’ve come to realize now that I shouldn’t compare the book, but I should rate it on how much I enjoyed it. This is now why I give it 5 stars.

This is the sort of series I know I’m going to have trouble not spoiling. I know this series is becoming really popular, so I will try my best to be vague, but oh man, I don’t know how I’m going to do it.

★★★★★

If you’ve read the book and want to talk about it with me, please do it! I don’t have many friends who read, so please, don’t hesitate, I need to talk about this series with someone!!!

I also have a small spoiler review posted on Goodreads if you want to read that.

Leave a Reply

