The Beauty of Darkness (The Remnant Chronicles #3) by Mary E. Pearson

the-beauty-of-darknessPublished: August 2nd 2016 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Pages: Hardcover, 679

Barnes and Noble | Amazon | Goodreads

Lia has survived Venda—but so has a great evil bent on the destruction of Morrighan. And only Lia can stop it.

With war on the horizon, Lia has no choice but to assume her role as First Daughter, as soldier—as leader. While she struggles to reach Morrighan and warn them, she finds herself at cross-purposes with Rafe and suspicious of Kaden, who has hunted her down.

In this conclusion to the Remnant Chronicles trilogy, traitors must be rooted out, sacrifices must be made, and impossible odds must be overcome as the future of every kingdom hangs in the balance.

My review:

I got this book right when it came out, and I was super excited about it. Almost 700 pages? Yes please! After the cliff hanger the last book had left us with, I felt rather anxious to see what was going to be laid out in this one.

The first half was pretty good. It was easy to see the change in each of the characters, and not everything was perfect, and I liked how the group acted around each other. I liked that I got to see a new part of this world, and it was very different.

I remember thinking through the first half that I was happy this book wasn’t going to let me down. I was waiting to see more of the world that had been described, the other kingdoms, how exactly everything was to finally pan out.

Throughout the whole book, I really loved the character development of Lia, and this book really shows how much she’s changed. I enjoyed seeing her go from the scared princess on her wedding day to the confident princess that hands her enemies their comeuppance. It’s my favorite thing about the book.

Even though this book is described as a romance, it really isn’t. Don’t expect any romance in in this book.

And I hate to say this, really I do because the first two books and the first half of this one was so good, but the closer to the end of this book, the more I wish it would end. About two hundred pages from the end, I wasn’t sure I could make it. I actually took a small break from it, before resuming, telling myself just to get it over with.

The only thing that kept me reading after certain characters had received what they deserved, delivered by Lia, was that I just needed to know how it would end. If I didn’t read through, I knew I would curse myself sometime in the future for never actually finishing it. I had made it 500 of the 700, 200 pages wasn’t but a few extra hours, and part of me was hoping that it would get good again.

And my hopes fizzled just like the plot of the book. There was a plot, a really large one that everyone could clearly see, but there was almost nothing else going on! Well, there were a few other things, but they were incomplete and lacking, though I can’t describe exactly why because of spoilers.

This doesn’t actually happen to me often, and here I have it twice in a row (from Queen of Shadows which I haven’t reviewed yet) where I start to dislike one of the important/main characters. In this case, it happened to be Prince Jaxon, or as most people who read the series know him, Rafe. I started to hate him around the middle of the book for reasons I won’t explain because spoilers. Then, at the end, there wasn’t much that could keep me from truly not caring what happened to him.

Maybe it’s my fault and my high expectations after reading the Throne of Glass series, but the last half completely blocks out how good the first half was. I was very disappointed. The ending was pretty anticlimactic in any case.

I honestly don’t know if I’ll read it again, but I will admit that it moved fast enough to keep my attention most of the time and it did keep me entertained.

I struggled with how many stars to give this book before giving it three stars. I finally decided that if there was another book in this series that I would read it, but compared to the first it doesn’t even come close to what I expected. I wouldn’t say I liked the book a lot, but I also wouldn’t say that I didn’t like it completely, so I’m going for the neutral three.

That being said, I’m sad that this turned out the way it did. I’m sad to see that this world couldn’t stand up to what I expected from it.

★★★

If you would also like to see spoilers, and my rant about the ending, visit my Goodreads review. You can find the link to my profile on the sidebar of any page.

Leave a Reply

