Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J. Maas

Throne Of GlassPublished: May 7th 2013 by Bloomsbury USA Children’s

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Magic, Romance

Pages: Hardcover, 404

Goodreads: 4.24

“Nothing is a coincidence. Everything has a purpose. You were meant to come to this castle, just as you were meant to be an assassin.”

When magic has gone from the world, and a vicious king rules from his throne of glass, an assassin comes to the castle. She does not come to kill, but to win her freedom. If she can defeat twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition to find the greatest assassin in the land, she will become the King’s Champion and be released from prison.

Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her.

And a princess from a foreign land will become the one thing Celaena never thought she’d have again: a friend.

But something evil dwells in the castle—and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying, horribly, one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival—and a desperate quest to root out the source of the evil before it destroys her world.

My review:

I can remember back to when I first read this book (it wasn’t all that long ago) and turned to the last page. I felt something inside my chest explode with excitement and that horrible sensation of post-book-depression. I was lucky enough to have the second book on hand and didn’t have to wait to go back to the library to get it. I learned my lesson about checking out books without having at least the first three in the series a long time ago. Anyway, Crown of Midnight is a whole other review.

Now, about this book. Throne of Glass. Dear everything that is holy, thank you to Sarah J. Mass for writing this amazing start of a six part series. It’s an excellent kick off and I just absolutely fell in love with Celaena in the first ten pages. I hate it in real life, but her narcissistic views of herself, her utter and complete confidence in what she can do. And her sass! Well, let’s just say that she’s the type of girl I secretly wish to be.

But, of course, there has to be a plot and hardships, which just make me fall in love with the other characters as well. Especially Nehemia, who reminds me of friends that will always be there for you, no matter what is happening, and won’t turn her back even when you try your best to anger her, even without knowing it.

I love the plot: an assassin sent to a death camp is sprung by the prince of the land to fight to be the king’s champion. Sounds like a fairy tale, yeah? Totally not. There is super danger and magic and little plot arches that you have to read the whole series to understand, and really, this book has a little of everything I wanted. A trained, all powerful assassin who has to overcome obstacles she’s never had before, a dashing prince, a loyal princess, a knight in shining armor (though his armor tends to be black), and of course, character flaws that make them seem real.

I adore this book, and the whole series really.

I do have a few things that rub against my reading nerves. There are some space/time issues, spans of up to weeks that are summarized in a paragraph. While that all isn’t terribly horrific, I would like to see a bit more of what happens during that time. I don’t need a whole chapter, just a few more sentences to tell me a bit more about what I missed.

Also, the writing seems to be a little jumbled, and I don’t know if it’s just me, or the style of the writer or something else, but I got confused a few times the first time I read the book.

But, despite the little things I always find myself complaining about, I still loved this book.

Oh, and there is a dog, which I adore, so that added to the overall greatness.

★★★★★ For an amazing and wonderful and brilliant and fantastic idea, plot, and characters, but, also for the time lapses and for another reason I won’t say because it involves a spoiler for this and the two books after (I’ll mention this again, but won’t reveal what it is until Queen of Shadows, which is the fourth book of this series).

Did you know that this book series might become a television show?

 

Leave a Reply

