Legend (Legend #1) by Marie Lu

LegendPublishedNovember 29th 2011 by Putnam Juvenile

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Romance

Pages: Hardcover, 305 pages

Goodreads: 4.19

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

My review:

I know I mentioned this series in a recent review, but I didn’t have any plans to write a review on it anytime soon. But, I was in need of a book to listen to, and this was available, so I thought, why not?

Both June and Day are completely different characters from completely opposite circumstances. And each of these characters had something that I like. June is a prodigy, super smart, super athletic, but also, extremely mislead and naive. Day is on the run from the government, and has been for five years. Even his family thinks he’s dad so he wouldn’t be able to do that if he wasn’t smart. But, forced to live on the streets, he uses his intelligence for stealing and to help his family and to make a difference in the world.

I don’t really have anything bad to say about this book, more of things I wish would have been included. I know that you don’t always want to give anything away as an author, but I want to see more of the dynamic between June and her brother, and even June and Day.

In all reality, June and Day didn’t really spend all that much time together. And after listening to it, I realized how short of a time frame this book, and other books, take place. So much happens in books and it only takes place in a handful of days, and I find it a little hard to believe that strong connections can be built in such a short amount of time. Yes, I will agree, some circumstance call for faster trust building, but I still find it confusing and improbable.

I do like getting each of the characters thought processes as they go through them, I feel like it gives me an extra insight into their life. I get to see different sides of June and Day and how they react to the same situation.

While I like all these aspects, there are some things I think that just come to easily to our characters.  June goes on her first mission, by herself. She’s only 15, and that just seems a little too coincidental. The government just happens not to know what Day looks like, and June’s brother is somehow killed despite all his military training. I guess, what I’m trying to say, is that there are some plot holes that could have been straightened out.

★★★★ Because I like the characters and the main idea, but there were plot holes and not enough character time.

Leave a Reply

