The Beautiful and the Cursed (The Dispossessed #1) by Page Morgan

The Beautiful and the CursedPublished: May 14th 2013 by Delacorte Books for Young Reader

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Historical Fiction, Romance

Pages: Hardcover, 341 pages

Goodreads: 3.80

After a bizarre accident, Ingrid Waverly is forced to leave London with her mother and younger sister, Gabby, trading a world full of fancy dresses and society events for the unfamiliar city of Paris.

In Paris there are no grand balls or glittering parties, and, disturbingly, the house Ingrid’s twin brother, Grayson, found for them isn’t a house at all. It’s an abandoned abbey, its roof lined with stone gargoyles that could almost be mistaken for living, breathing creatures.

And Grayson has gone missing.

No one seems to know of his whereabouts but Luc, a devastatingly handsome servant at their new home.

Ingrid is sure her twin isn’t dead—she can feel it deep in her soul—but she knows he’s in grave danger. It will be up to her and Gabby to navigate the twisted path to Grayson, a path that will lead Ingrid on a discovery of dark secrets and otherworldly truths. And she’ll learn that once they are uncovered, they can never again be buried.

My review:

This was another one of those ‘I’m only listening to this because there isn’t much else that interests me’ books. While it kept me entertained, I really didn’t find the story that enjoyable and kept getting lost, or I found myself tuning out, making me get lost again.

It’s set in the early 20th century (I think so anyway) and I find myself liking books that are set in the past, mostly because I can learn about the time period as I read the book. When I realized that it was set back I got really excited, hoping I would get a sneak peek about how life might have been like. I did get a peek, a very small one that left me disappointed when I didn’t learn anything new.

I had some serious problems with character consistency. To me, it seems as if the event that caused Ingrid and her family to move to Paris (Ingrid’s fault) didn’t seem to be right. What Ingrid did just didn’t match her personality. It just seemed to be a convenient way to get everyone where the author wanted them.

Really, most of the books was just missing. There was content but there wasn’t anything to make it alive.

The ending was very dissatisfying, and not even in the typical ‘it didn’t end the way I wanted it to’ way. It was like it was hardly and ending at all.

★★★ Overall the book kept me entertained but I won’t read/listen to it again or any of the other books in the series.

Leave a Reply

