Stargril (Stargirl #1) by Jerry Spinelli

StargirlPublished: September 2002 by Scholastic (first published June 30th 2000)

Genre: Young Adult, Fiction, Romance

Pages: Paperback, 186 pages

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Goodreads

Motion Picture in the works!

Stargirl. From the day she arrives at quiet Mica High in a burst of color and sound, the hallways hum with the murmur of “Stargirl, Stargirl.” She captures Leo Borlock’ s heart with just one smile. She sparks a school-spirit revolution with just one cheer. The students of Mica High are enchanted. At first.

Then they turn on her. Stargirl is suddenly shunned for everything that makes her different, and Leo, panicked and desperate with love, urges her to become the very thing that can destroy her: normal. In this celebration of nonconformity, Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli weaves a tense, emotional tale about the perils of popularity and the thrill and inspiration of first love.

My review:

This book was a short read (or in my case, only a few hours to listen to). This isn’t really the kind of book I’m drawn to, but, I decided to read it. At the time, I remember hating it, then loving it, then hating it again.  Overall though, I’m going to say that I only simply liked the book. Even though it’s so short, I feel like it dragged, that it to forever to finish (though I think it was only 5 hours). I’m going to say this is my fault, that I don’t like books like this often (only two exceptions) and that’s why I wasn’t that big of a fan of this book

★★★.5 Because I did enjoy some of the characters, but I found it boring.

 

Emily,

I can see why you liked this book so much. It has a girl as unusual as you were, and I mean that in the best way possible. But to be completely honest with you, I hate the book. Well, not the whole book, but the ending really. This book would be my exhibit A for reasons why I don’t like to read teenage romances, with The Fault in our Stars as exhibit B (even though I haven’t read it).

I fell in love with character in the short amount of time, so much that I could feel my heart slowly cracking as I listened to the last twenty minutes of the book. There are things I would change about it, yes, but I still loved it all the same.

There’s one thing I can never seem to grasp, even in reality. If you love someone, why would you let them go?

But also, I disagree about the shunning situation. In my own experience, it doesn’t actually happen in high schools, even as small as that one (ours is that small, don’t you remember?) I guess there could be some exceptions, as there are to every rule ever created, but that seemed very extreme.

It’s doesn’t matter I guess. It made the book and that’s all that really matters anyway.

It’s a peaceful day today, one that would have us together doing something. We would have talked about Stargirl, just like I think you always wanted to do.

Sincerely,

One of your number 8 friends. After all, it was our number, even if it isn’t lucky anymore.

Leave a Reply

