Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer

CinderPublished: January 3rd 2012 by Feiwel & Friends

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Fairy Tales

Pages: Hardcover, 390

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Goodreads

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

To be completely honest, I wasn’t sure about this book. I kept putting off, not wanting to hate it, but also not giving myself a chance to love it either. So I decided to listen to it, because at the very least it would keep me from hearing the noisy machines around me at work. I now realize how stupid I was being. I didn’t have any expectations for it, but I found myself not wanting to stop the book.

The book is set in the future, about three or four hundred years by my guess. It’s not a dystopia, and not a utopia either, in fact, it’s very similar to life on Earth right now, except with much cooler technology.

I really liked most the characters in this book, though I feel like a few of them lacked depth, or acted out of character at some point. I especially liked Iko, the household android, and couldn’t help but latch onto her like I do my younger cousins. She is just so adorable, and so human for a robot.

I will say, the plot is a little predictable. It seems that lately I’m really good at seeing the plot twist or whatever, or the books I’m reading just give huge hints, or the line it takes is really predictable. As predictable as it was though, I still really enjoyed it, because that was pretty much what I wanted to happen.

I don’t really have much more to say about the book, other than I really want to listen to the second one now.

★★★★ For something I never thought I would like, the original content and rework of a well-known fairy tale, but also for some lack of character depth.

Emily,

You were right about the book. I should have read it sooner so we could have had a chance to talk about it together. I don’t remember if you told me I should read it, or just said that it was a good book, but either way, you were right. I can see why you liked it so much; it had some of that steampunk vibe you were always into, and the Grimm Brothers stuff we were always trying to figure out. I should have listened to what your favorite books were more often. I’ll be adding Star Girl next, because that was another of your favorites.

Thank you.

 

Leave a Reply

