Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes #1) by Sara Raasch

17399160Published: October 14th, 2014 by Balzer + Bray

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Magic

Pages: 416

Barnes and Noble | Amazon | Goodreads

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, and serving her kingdom just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

My review:

It took me about a month to get around to reading this book. It wasn’t that the book was uninteresting, but I was busy with school work and finals week, and somehow slipped into a reading slump. As much as I love to read, sometimes the slump just takes control. But school is out and I decided to try to start reading it again, only to discover I still had reading slump. So I decided to cowgirl up, and picked up the book and started reading.

It didn’t hold my interest, but I kept trying. Finally, I gave up after about twenty pages and decided to watch some Netflix. After an episode or two, I picked up my book, started where I left off and couldn’t put it down.

So, after waiting more than a month to read it, I finally started and wasn’t disappointed. It was fast paced, had action, an interesting world, and a plot that developed and became clear over time. This book had everything I wanted, though it was squished into what really could have been two books. In fact, I wish It was two books because I wanted more!

The pace of the book was very fast, almost too fast, and glossed over some of the more character important events. There are characters I wish I had more time to get to know, and events that I wish would have had more description. There are several time jumps, but those didn’t bother me so much because what happened during that time was explained.

There was a plot twist of course, but by the time I was about a hundred pages in, I was thinking I know what’s going to happen. I then got frustrated when it didn’t, then, even though I was expecting it, I was surprised by when it did happen! There were hints along the way, and it really wasn’t all that hard to figure out, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t like it.

Even though I really enjoyed the plot of the book, I couldn’t help but feel that there was something that was lacking. Characters were undeveloped, events and plotlines weren’t as thought out as I wanted, and there was just something missing, though I’m having a hard time putting my finger on it.

Characters were base level, something you might see when you just glance at someone. I didn’t see any personality of the characters but the surface, and they really lacked depth. I wish there would have been more of a real feel to most the characters.

Also there was an issue I had with how much content to book has. Yes, wonderful plot, but I would have liked to see more of many characters, and not just being told about them. I want to experience the characters as the main character experiences them, and that just didn’t happen here for me. It made it the book feel two dimensional, and not believable.

But, this book had ideas that I’ve never seen before, and I was happy to read something new and different. I’m hoping the next book will have character improvement.

★★★★ For an amazing original plot, but also for the lack of believability of characters, and missing pieces of the story.

Leave a Reply

