The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles #2) By Mary E. Pearson

21569527

Published: July 7th 2015 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy, Magic, Adventure

Pages: Hardcover, 470 pages

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Goodreads

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape. Desperate to save Lia’s life, her erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she has the gift, and the Komizar’s interest in Lia is greater than anyone could have foreseen.

Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: There’s Rafe, who lied to Lia but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be savages. Now that she lives among them, however, she realizes that may be far from the truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country… and her own destiny.

My Review:

I really liked the first book, so I wanted to read this one right after, but it hadn’t been released yet. I feel like that is the story of my life, waiting for the next book in the series to come out.

This book picked up immediately after The Kiss of Deception, and it didn’t miss a beat. Sometimes I find that books are vague on the time that had passed between books, but there was no question in my mind as to where it began. I don’t mind when there is time that passed, but I always like a clear timeline.

There is a lot of character development throughout the whole book, and I was happy to see it in all of the main characters, expect one. We also get to see a new sides of Lia, Kaden, and Rafe, and I loved every minute of it.

The lies, the unknown secrets, and the threat that is faced just made this book as great as it could possibly be. I was not bored for a second of this books, and I had a really hard time putting it down once I had started it.

There are two things that I would complain about over this book. The first was that I wish there had been more time spent on the ending, the climax, the big fight, whatever you want to call it. I got about ten pages from the end and kept wondering how it was going to wrap up in such a short amount of time. Once I finished to book, I did find the ending a little lacking in content. Yes a lot happens, but there could have been a lot more lead up, and I really wish there had been.

My second complaint was the cliff hanger! I know, most books have a cliff hanger, and I’ll probably always complain about them. I really want to know what happens next. I always want more.

★★★★.8 Because it was just so amazing. It’s not five stars because I wish it would have had more lead up to the climax.

Before you read this book, study the map. Really look at it. You’ll be left smiling once you see it. I figured it out, and was just waiting for it to be confirmed in the book. Don’t worry, no spoilers except for early in the book. If you don’t figure it out by just the map, you’ll finally realize it a few chapters in.

Leave a Reply

