The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles #1) by Mary E. Pearson

16429619Published: July 8th 2014 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Genre: Romance, Young Adult, Fantasy

Pages: Hardcover, 489 pages

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Goodreads

A princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.

My Review:

This book had almost everything I have ever wanted in a book. Adventure, action, a little romance to spice up the less adventurous sections, and a plot that kept me guessing until almost the very end. This book was almost perfect. My only complaint is that there was a lack of information about the trouble between all the countries.

Lia tries so hard to fit in and struggles, just like many other people would in a different situation than the one they were used to. Once she is settled in a new life she thinks things will die down and leave her alone. While Lia spends a long time in the new town as a waitress, it’s not easy as she might have wanted because things keep happening and Lia finds herself in the middle of it all.

The plot twist, I didn’t see it coming. I was shocked! Beyond shocked! It seemed that everything I had learned throughout the book shattered and I had to completely re-think the rest of the book. Now that I’ve read it again though, there were signs it was going to happen, and I’m a little angry at myself for falling for the trap that was so cleverly placed.

Once I got a little more than halfway through the book, I didn’t know how it was going to end because it seems as if there was so little of the story left to tell. It didn’t drag out like a lot of other books would, and I was grateful. There was still a lot that went on and it gave me a better look at the characters and the setting. There was a lot of story building, skill building, and hope building for Lia, and it was defiantly needed. I was happy that Pearson didn’t brush over events like many authors do.

There is some awesome character development for most of the characters, and I really enjoyed seeing them evolve. I would call this a coming of age story, with Lia and the other characters finding out who they are and coming to terms with what life is really like. It’s about people trying to find their place in the world, while also hiding and with a bit of magic mixed in.

I’ve already read the next book, and can’t wait to post my review on that one too!

★★★★ ½ for an awesome storyline, great characters and good world building even though I wish there was more of it.

Look at the map, seriously, study the map. Look at the big picture. You might be able to find a clue to what happened to Lia’s world in the past.

And I’m sorry it’s been so long since I posted, I’ll try to post more often! Happy Spring!

The Heart of Betrayal

Leave a Reply

