Storm Siren (The Storm Siren Trilogy #1) by Mary Weber

18806259Published: August 19th 2014 by Thomas Nelson / HarperCollins

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Supernatural, Magic

Pages: Hardcover, 320 pages

“I raise my chin as the buyers stare. Yes. Look. You don’t want me. Because, eventually, accidentally, I will destroy you.”

In a world at war, a slave girl’s lethal curse could become one kingdom’s weapon of salvation. If the curse—and the girl—can be controlled.

As a slave in the war-weary kingdom of Faelen, seventeen-year-old Nym isn’t merely devoid of rights, her Elemental kind are only born male and always killed at birth — meaning, she shouldn’t even exist.

Standing on the auction block beneath smoke-drenched mountains, Nym faces her fifteenth sell. But when her hood is removed and her storm-summoning killing curse revealed, Nym is snatched up by a court advisor and given a choice: be trained as the weapon Faelen needs to win the war, or be killed.

Choosing the former, Nym is unleashed into a world of politics, bizarre parties, and rumors of an evil more sinister than she’s being prepared to fight . . . not to mention the handsome trainer whose dark secrets lie behind a mysterious ability to calm every lightning strike she summons.

But what if she doesn’t want to be the weapon they’ve all been waiting for?

Set in a beautifully eclectic world of suspicion, super abilities, and monsters, Storm Siren is a story of power. And whoever controls that power will win.

My Review:

This book caught my attention right off the bat, and I think I got the book only a few months after it was published. After reading the first chapter I was pulled in and couldn’t help but read, then read more.

I will admit that I was a little concerned that I wasn’t going to like it because of the ratings on Goodreads, which for me is a good indicator of whether I’ll like the book or not. Basically, my rule is that if it has more than 4 stars, I’ll buy it, if not then I’ll put it on my to-read list to get from the library.

The training Nym goes through, the trials she’s been through, and the references to her past really made me like this book. The strangeness of the world had me imagining what it would look like, then laugh because it was something not many people would do in our day and age.

Nym learns about her powers, and other’s powers, and soon she’s actually making friends despite the maybe-not-so-good-owner that warns her not to. She’s mistrusting at first, but learns to let a few people inside her life.

The map was a nice touch, helping me imagine this world that Nym lived in.

I don’t have many complaints about this book. I wish there would have been a bit more background on Nym, and her powers. There needed to be more world building, more structure to see how the other countries interact, maybe more of their origin as well. I didn’t get much of a sense on how large these countries were, and maybe that was intentional, but I don’t know.

My biggest complaint is that Nym is a bit oblivious. When something changes about her friend, she does notice but doesn’t think it’s anything worth investigating. It just really annoyed me because I had the impression she was intelligent. Plot device I guess. I won’t say more because of spoilers.

I give this book ★★★★ for a good idea, and a good plot, but also for the lack of building up more of the characters and setting.

Leave a Reply

