Red Queen (Red Queen #1) by Victoria Aveyard

22328546.jpg
Source

Published: February 10th 2015 by HarperTeen

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Pages: Hardcover, 383 pages

Goodreads Choice 2015 Winner

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Goodreads

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.

My Review:

This was only the second time that I read this book, and the first time was about a year ago, around the time that this book came out. I re-read the review I posted on Goodreads and I realized that I was being a little to harsh. Yes there were things that if I were writing the book I would have changed, but reading it again now I realized that even though it wasn’t what I would have done it was still really amazing.

I have always loved the books where the main character is singled out as different and has no control over the situation they are thrown into. Watching them struggle into a new world, doing well, or doing horribly, is one of my favorite things to read. This book has all of that and more so I couldn’t help but get my hands on it ASAP. The whole situation is just awesome, and while not completely all new territory, there is plenty of details and, well, everything that made it completely worth the read.

At the end there is a twist, one that you know is coming but aren’t exactly sure who and/or what the twist is. It wasn’t one I was expecting and it really threw me for a loop. The ending though was absolutely the best part. The twist at the end really did set in motion what the next book will be about (please don’t read the book summary of Glass Sword on any site, or on the back of the book because it does contain spoilers!) and I really can’t wait to read more about Mare and what she goes through to learn more about herself, her family, and her country.

I have two things to fault this book for. The first, and in my opinion one of the worst mistakes, is leaving time gaps. There are places in this book where it skips over weeks at a time and this is one of my biggest pet peeves! I love reading and love this book so I just want to know more about what happens to these characters and more about their situations!

The second worst thing for me was the lack of a relationship build up. Yes we see that Mare is making friends with a few people, but the lack of actual conversation to build up the friendship annoys me a little. I need evidence that she’s making real friends! I need more ‘just because I can’ dialogue that has nothing to do with the plot.

This book is mostly a setup for the rest of the series but that doesn’t take away from the book, it just gives you a larger background for the future.

★★★★ ½ because it really was one of the best YA books to come out in 2015, but also because I wish there would have been a little more of the in between scenes.

I just read a sneak peak of Glass Sword and, oh goodness. I don’t know how I’m going to wait two and a half weeks for this book to come out!

Leave a Reply

