Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi

 

shatter-me
Source

Published: November 15th, 2011 by Harper

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Dystopia

Pages: Hardback, 338

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Goodreads

I have a curse
I have a gift

I am a monster
I’m more than human

My touch is lethal
My touch is power

I am their weapon
I will fight back

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

My Review:

This is the first book that I am reviewing and have never read before. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but the whole ‘I can’t touch you because it’ll kill you’ made me read it. I had no choice, once I set my eyes on something like that it just draws me in.

I was a little confused at first with the way it was written but it wasn’t long before I caught on. There is a few situations in this book that I didn’t care for, but that’s not unusual. I feel like the first location Juliette is in, is the most well written section of the book, allowing me to see what the situation was like for her about how it had affected her. The second location that she goes too is well written for a good amount, but then I feel like the author started taking shortcuts to get to a part of the book that was action.

I actually think part of the book was edited out, though there is no proof. There is a gap in the time just caused me to wonder what was going on, exactly. The big picture was clear but there need to be more there, so everyone could know what was happening. This book could have definitely been 50 to 100 pages longer, and if it had the part I thought the book needed more of, it would allow me to have a better understanding of Warner and how exactly he treated Juliette.

This book was very good, and I wasn’t expecting what happened throughout most the book. The only thing I’m unsure of is that we never see Juliette actually realize she might not be as crazy as people make her believe. I can see that she is getting better, but there needed to be more of her thinking she was crazy, which leads me back to thinking part of the book was edited out.

I will be reading the next books in the series, and I hope that they are just as good.

★★★★ For hitting all the parts I like in a book, but for the lack of clarity of what happened during missing time in the middle.

Leave a Reply

