The Immortal Heights (The Elemental Trilogy #3) by Sherry Thomas

Published: October 13th 2015 by Balzer + Bray
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Pages: Hardcover, 432 pages

In a pursuit that has spanned continents, Iolanthe, Titus, and their friends have always managed to remain one step ahead of the forces of Atlantis. But now the Bane, the monstrous tyrant who bestrides the entire mage world, has issued his ultimatum: Titus must hand over Iolanthe, or watch as his entire realm is destroyed in a deadly rampage. Running out of time and options, Iolanthe and Titus must act decisively to deliver a final blow to the Bane, ending his reign of terror for good.

However, getting to the Bane means accomplishing the impossible—finding a way to infiltrate his crypt in the deepest recesses of the most ferociously guarded fortress in Atlantis. And everything is only made more difficult when new prophecies come to light, foretelling a doomed effort…

Iolanthe and Titus will put their love and their lives on the line. But will it be enough?

With The Immortal Heights, Sherry Thomas brings the acclaimed Elemental Trilogy to its breathtaking conclusion.

My Review:

This book picks up after the last one ends, almost at the same moment. I found myself in a place that was unfamiliar, which was refreshing after the characters had spent so much time at school. I got to learn more about the world these two live in.

Events I never expected kept going one way, then the next and it really kept me guessing on how it was going to end. New visions of death are brought to the characters attention and it seems there is no possible way to escape what had been prophesied.

Iolanthe and Titus finally get a moment together, but I wish there was more! Yes they say sweet things to each other, but there was a lot that left me on the edge of my seat wondering if there would be more. I was disappointed when there wasn’t enough of the two of them just being sweet and not worrying about the outcome of the whole world.

The ending, oh my god, the ending just made me want to tear my hair out. There was plenty of action, creative ways to make the battle more amazing, and twists and turns at every step. More secrets were discovered, and finally, it ended. It was the epilogue that made me want to scream in frustration. I don’t want to give too much away but there could have been more! I wanted more! That’s a horrible way to end the book. If you read it, you’ll understand what I mean! It really was almost as bad as the “It was just a dream” ending. Almost. Like it was Harry Potter bad. (When I read Harry Potter for the first time there was no new information on any of the characters and I thought it was a horrible way to tease us into begging for more.) I can only hope that more will be released about this series like J.K. Rowling did for Harry Potter.

Just one thing about Sherry Thomas. She generally writes romantic novels and I think that she was tired of writing fluffy scenes and wanted to do something different. I think the lack of enough romance really was more disappointing than if there had been none at all

★★★★1/2 The missing half star is for the ending. Really, read it and you’ll understand.

The Burning Sky (The Elemental Trilogy #1) | The Perilous Sea (The Elemental Trilogy #2)

Leave a Reply

