Emerald Green (Precious Stone Trilogy #3) by Kerstin Gier

emerald-green
Source

Published: October 8th, 2013 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) Original date: December 8th, 2010 by by Arena Verlag; German.

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Time Travel

Pages: Hardback, 451

Amazon Barnes and Noble Goodreads

Gwen has a destiny to fulfill, but no one will tell her what it is. She’s only recently learned that she is the Ruby, the final member of the time-traveling Circle of Twelve, and since then nothing has been going right. She suspects the founder of the Circle, Count Saint-German, is up to something nefarious, but nobody will believe her. And she’s just learned that her charming time-traveling partner, Gideon, has probably been using her all along.Emerald Green is the stunning conclusion to Kerstin Gier’s Ruby Red Trilogy, picking up where Sapphire Blue left off, reaching new heights of intrigue and romance as Gwen finally uncovers the secrets of the time-traveling society and learns her fate.

My review:

I found this book because I had read the others and there was no way I could not finish the series.

It starts almost immediately after Sapphire Blue, so there is nothing to miss between the books. And finally I got what I wanted: more dialogue that allowed me to learn more about the characters! It really made a big difference to me. About halfway through the book I could feel the tension and I knew that the end was going to be soon.

There was a lot going on, but in a good way!  The drama of Gwen’s and Gideon’s relationship was there, but it wasn’t over done. I got frustrated with some of Gwen’s reactions, but overall it wasn’t so bad.

Things did get more complicated, but not so much that I couldn’t understand. The pace of this book was almost spot on, moving quickly but giving plenty of time for each important part.

I only wish that there had been more time spent on the actual ending of the book, the big fight at the end. I felt that it moved too quickly and would have liked for there to be more suspense and more of the big twist! It kept me guessing, and I was shocked, though not really all that surprised!

Once again, the book is filled with dresses from the past and even a ball hosted by one of Gwen’s ghost friend’s parents!

This book was everything I had been waiting for! ★★★★

Ruby Red (Precious Stone Trilogy #1)     Sapphire Blue (Precious Stone Trilogy #2)

Leave a Reply

