Ruby Red (Precious Stone Trilogy, #1) by Kerstin Gier

For Christmas I got a number of books, mostly ones that I have already read and thought that they were amazing. I’m currently reading one, Ruby Red  by Kerstin Gier. There is time traveling, mystery societies, lies, and high expectations for a girl who is unaware of what her gift can lead to.

My summery of the book:

Gwyneth Shepard is your average girl. She goes to school and lives with her family. It’s her family that makes up for Gwen’s plainness. Her cousin, Charlotte, is tall and beautiful with shinning red hair, and an attitude of a know it all. She also has the time travel gene.

While Charlotte has spent ten years training for time travel, Gwen suddenly finds that her cousin isn’t the one with the gene after all.

Struggling to understand why her mother would lie to everyone, Gwen included, she finds herself thrown into a world of unknown places and people. Can she trust the secret society of time-travelers, or will they keep her in the dark?

For an actual summery and reviews click here. (This series is also called the Ruby Red Trilogy)

My review:

In high school I always hated the people who caused drama, and now I feel the same way and try to avoid it at all costs. In books, it usually annoys me more than I would in real life because it takes too much focus off of the more important problems.I agree that sometimes a little bit of drama is needed to move the plot forward to create a certain amount of conflict, but when there is as much as there is in this book, it takes away from the overall story.

And fair warning, there is a lot of teenage girl drama that just makes me want to rip my hair out in frustration. Really, the first hundred pages is drama and Gwen refusing to tell anyone but her best friend Lesley about her uncontrolled jumps through times. It takes her two days to tell her mom!

I found it hard to get emotionally invested in this book. Because of how the author wrote the dialogue, it was condensed into paragraphs which lacked detail.This didn’t give me a chance to get to know the characters as much as I would have liked to and caused me to skim over some important information. I look forward to reading how characters get their information in books!

All of that being said, the rest of the story is a good read. There are dresses made for the past, secrets that no one will tell Gwen, mysteries that have yet to be solved, and prophecies that predict what will happen. Not to mention there is an aunt who has visions of the future. The ending is abrupt but makes you want to read the next one, just to see how it all plays out and, eventually, how the story will end.

While not one of my favorite books, there is something that makes you want to pick up the next book and keep reading. I give this book 3.5 stars for an original idea, but lack of what feels to be plot movement after about 150 pages.

5 thoughts on “Ruby Red (Precious Stone Trilogy, #1) by Kerstin Gier

Leave a Reply

